June 7, 2015 at 11:31AM

Which 5" Monitor? SmallHD 501 or Blackmagic Video Assist?

Hi. I saw these two monitors and don't know which one to get or which one to prefer. I want a good monitor, when I go out and shoot on daylight. I want to use this monitor which a (hopefully) 5D IV in the near future and now have a 600D. I'm no professional filmmaker, more a hobbyist - so which should I prefer? Do I need SDI? Which one would u take?

Here the SMALL HD 899 $: http://store.smallhd.com/store/501-monitors-bundles/501-HDMI-On-Camera-F...

Here the Blackmagic Video Assistant around 495 $: https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/at/products/blackmagicvideoassist

18 Comments

Wait for the SmallHD 502, a month or so... HDMI # SDI with 3d LUT

June 7, 2015 at 6:58PM, Edited June 7, 6:58PM

Ken Horstmann
Director/Producer

The SmallHD 502 is already out. Why should I wait a month or so?

June 8, 2015 at 12:40AM

Great, didn't know it was out. You might want SDI at some point.

June 11, 2015 at 5:13PM, Edited June 11, 5:13PM

Ken Horstmann
Director/Producer

BlackMagic doesn't offer a loupe. That sucks and greatly reduces the value of the unit. You'll have to rig something up or wait for a third-party solution.

January 14, 2016 at 7:43PM

David Gurney
DP

You only need SDI if you expect to hook up cameras or extra monitors through SDI.
A 5D doesn't have SDI (never heard of a DSLR with SDI, btw), so you can do with HDMI only (SmallHD 501).
BUT you might want to be able to use SDI as well in the future...

The big differences between the 502/501 and Video Assist seem to be that:
- the Video Assist can record Prores/DNxHd
- the 502/501 has all the exposure and focus tools (zebra, false color, peaking, pixelzoom) while the VA has a histogram.
- the 502/501 has a 179 degree view angle. The VA around 135.
- the 502/501 is said to be color calibrated.
- the VA is said to ship in 1 month, the 502/501 is available now: this makes is hard to really compare. It's just a spec comparison.