October 1, 2014 at 10:15AM

Best Camera and lenses to start out - 5,000 - 7,500 USD Budget

I'm just starting out in this and I would really appreciate some advice as I'm willing to make my first "important" investment in my own gear... I have around 5.000 - 7.500 USD to spend and I've been struggling between what is the best camera and lenses for me to buy. I'm mostly shooting music videos, but I also shoot weddings sometimes. I've used the Canon 5D mark iii and I've really liked it, but I'm not sure if I should step up into something else. Any help will be much appreciated.

12 Comments

It sounds like low-light shooting would be an important feature given what you shoot. I would look at the new Sony A7S or the Canon C100, as both of these cameras are great for low-light work. You might be able to pick up the C100 used and save yourself $1,000 or more.

October 1, 2014 at 11:11AM

Guy McLoughlin
Video Producer

Thank you very much Guy!.

October 1, 2014 at 11:52AM

I think your bestest bet would be the A7s... its an upgrade-able camera meaning you can get 4K out of it when you connect an external recorder so keep that in mind and of course the lowlight capability is like alien tech. Pickup a wide lens lets say a 16mm along with a 50mm and maybe a 35mm or a 85mm to go with that.

October 2, 2014 at 1:26PM

Wentworth Kelly
DP/Colorist/Drone Op

Thank you very much! I'm just a little concerned with the A7s as I understand that its minimum ISO is 3200 in S LOG2, so I'll have to get some decent ND filters to compensate and its price can grow up really fast (maybe you can give me a better advice over this)

Now about the lenses, is there any brand that you recommend? that can be adjusted to my budget?

Thank you once again

October 3, 2014 at 12:32PM