July 14, 2016 at 12:56PM

I have $1000 for audio equipment for narrative film. What do i get?

hey guys, new to this forum. so essentially I've been researching to get some stuff for high quality audio. i am shooting a narrative short film and the majority (although not all) will be shot indoors. In the worst case scenario i'd hire someone with all the equipment but that's not ideal as i'd like to own this equipment and learn about it on my own. I've done some doc work with rode video mics and a zoom h4n but thats about it. I'm complete noob with mixers, ect. where and what should i buy with a budget +/- $1000. I'm shooting on a gh4. cheers and thanks!

18 Comments

Why not spend the $1K on someone who's willing to teach you while he/she does their job? You'll learn more in a day then scouring the internet for weeks.

July 14, 2016 at 1:03PM

definitely considered this... was hoping for equipment though

M. Tob

July 14, 2016 at 3:20PM

If you want high quality audio then for $1000 can buy a single good mike and a good mike stand. In other words your budget is way too low for high quality audio.

July 14, 2016 at 6:49PM, Edited July 14, 7:16PM

Cary Knoop

A realistic minimal budget would be:

$700 for microphone & boom pole (see http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/891658-REG/Sennheiser_MKE_600_Shot...)
$100 for closed-ear headphones (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/240764-REG/Sennheiser_HD_280PRO_HD...)
$200 for Zoom h4n (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1116977-REG/zoom_zh4nsp_h4nsp_hand...)

Total: $1000. Learning to use a boompole and headphones will take some time. And you simply cannot wish away the fact that getting good sound is an active job that somebody has to do, independently and collaboratively with everybody else.

July 15, 2016 at 5:39AM, Edited July 15, 5:39AM

As others have stated, $1,000 is not a very big budget for audio, but that does not mean it's impossible. Here is what I would buy given your budget: