September 17, 2014 at 6:55PM

What's the best 4k camera under $5,000

Preferably something under $5,000

10 Comments

GH4 or A7s coupled with an Atomos Shogun recorder.

October 9, 2014 at 6:21PM

Zan Shin

I agree. Go for the GH4 with the Shogun and Metabones Speed Booster. Shogun on GH4 will give you 10bit 4:2:2 recordings, A7s 8-bit. The Speed Booster will give you the extra stop and changes the cropfactor of 2,3x (4K) to 1,63x.

January 1, 2015 at 6:47PM

Awi Rabelista
Director, DP

Hello Zan and Awi - Thank you for your responses.

I am an avid starting filmmaker and wanting to buy the GH4 for quite some time now...I would be using the camera primarily for shooting video.

I have been hesitant for little, but the Metabones Speed Booster sounds like a great idea and would hopefully clear any doubts of shooting in low light ( in an ideal world we woudn't want to shoot over iso 1600 anyway right ;) is the GH4 truly the best option for the money?

Can I just ask a question to help me resolve a confusion that I have? What if I don't buy the Atmos Shogun with it? Will I still be able to record 4K and bring it to post (either Premiere Pro or Avid) to edit / convert / export? What is the true benefit of the Atmos Shogun?

Thank You!

Regards from Netherlands! M

February 1, 2015 at 11:41PM

I am looking for more inputs to buy a good 4k camera. Please suggest me some

October 16, 2014 at 10:37AM

GH4 or A7s

February 2, 2015 at 4:20PM

Michael Militscher
Director / Commercial Producer

BMPC4K has better dynamic range than both the aforementioned cameras, though it suffers limitations.

February 2, 2015 at 4:58PM

Zachariel Shanahan
Writer/Director

I would have to agree. I own the BMPC4K and i love it, It has a great "film" quality to the shots with lots of dynamic range and the one thing no one ever mentions is it's global shutter, I have never gotten rolling shutter out of the camera no matter how hard I whip pan. A great camera for cinematic filmmaking.