February 5, 2015 at 4:47PM

$2,000 for new equipment, what equipment should I get?

Hey guys, so I'm a film student looking to buy some new gear for myself. I've wanted to use more school equipment since we have some really nice stuff, but they have put the hammer down on using it for productions outside of class. A year ago I bought a used Canon 60D and a 50mm prime and it's been great so far. I use it on a daily basis along with a Canon 7D for my job as a student videographer where we make mini-docs on and off campus. So I primarily shoot documentary as well as narrative, sometimes sports for some extra cash! I've saved up about $2,000 and I'm wondering what I should use it for. Originally I thought to buy the 24-105mm f4 because it would be perfect for our run-and-gun style. But then I thought, "well, why don't I just get a new camera?" So I looked into the Canon 6D, but the heavy moire and aliasing really turned me off. I know all DSLRS have it, but it's even worse because that one doesn't have the filter and would cost an extra $300 to put it in. So then I thought about the GH4, which looks great to me! Nice and small, great image with 4k capability and right in my price range! However, it's MFT so I'd have to buy some new glass and couldn't use the lenses I have at work (canon 50mm & kit lens). So what do you guys think? Should I get the lens and deal with the camera for a bit? Should I go for a new camera, like a full frame Canon or the GH4 or A7S? Or should I scrap it all and save even more for something else? Any and all recommendations and tips would be greatly appreciated, thanks so much!

5 Comments

Moire is a b*tch. It's ruined several talking head interviews I've shot in the past with my Panasonic GH3 camera, and was one of the main reasons why I bought a GH4 camera just to finally get rid of moire forever.