May 2, 2016 at 12:34PM

A6300 Or 80D?

Hello! I'm new guy here, i have a some awkward issue about 2 cameras, Canon EOS 80D and Sony A6300. These guys are brand-new camera, and the prices are almost the same. And i need an advice, which is camera should i choose for my videography gear.

So here's the issue. Actually, i've been using Canon since 6 years ago and the video quality is enough for me. Canon just released 80D with great video autofocus and a touchscreen also 1080p 60fps. I love those features and all of my lens are EF or EF-S lens which is extremely compatible to Canon DSLR. In other hand, Sony A6300 is also a great Mirrorless for video! 4K resolution and awesome low-light performance. I'm so confused choosing between these cameras, these cameras have their minus and plus side. 80D doesn't have 4K resolution nor great Low-light performance. A6300 doesn't have touchscreen which is makes me a lil bit uncomfortable even with 4D Focus feature and i have to buy lens adapter to fit my EF / EF-S lens to Sony E-Mount (and i heard that if i put adapter to Sony camera, the AF feature won't work very well).

So what do you guys think? which camera should i choose? I use my camera to record an event (concert, wedding, meeting, workshop, live event, etc) so i really need your opinion about these two cameras.

20 Comments

I would go with the A6300 because it has better low light performance and records 4k on the same sensor size as the 80D.
The 80D is still designed to be a stills camera on the first place. Video is just a added feature which hasn't improved that far since 2008 when the first video capable DSLRs hit the market.
However, the A6300 is designed to record very good 4K. My recommendation for you is:

Get the A6300
Sell all the Canon glass you have that have no mechanic focus dial (might be all STM lenses). But keep L type and normal lenses.
Get the Metabones adaptor or, if you like, even the Metabones speedbooster EF to E mount.