ARRI Wants to Teach You How to Light Commercials with This Awesome Free Seminar

Terry Crews - Old Spice Commercial
Get the lowdown on lighting basics from a cinematographer who has done it before. 

If want to make it as a cinematographer, you're going to need to know as much as you can about lighting. When you're starting out, a good way to expand your experience is by shooting music videos and commercials as they both allow you to be experimental in creative ways that you can carry over to narrative work. 

ARRI has scheduled a free online seminar Wednesday, Oct. 28, 2020, that will take you through the basics of lighting for commercials. The event is part of their Tech Talk Live series, which has been taking place for months now. Their last seminar detailed the ARRI EF Mount with LBUS, which allows users to use Canon EF mount lenses with the ALEXA Mini LF, Mini, and Amira camera. It was first announced by Film and Digital Times back in April, but ARRI has made it official with a release date of November. 

ARRI TECH TALK Live: Commercial Lighting Basics
ARRI TECH TALK Live: Commercial Lighting Basics

This latest seminar will be hosted by Art Adams, a cinematographer and ARRI Cinema Lens Specialist. Adams knows his stuff, so the event should be chock-full of great information.

Plus, he's pretty casual, so it won't feel like it's an ARRI plug the whole time. If you haven't watched his interview with Potato Jet talking about the Signature Primes, it's worth a watch. Tons of facts about how lenses work and how glass informs the image. The lighting seminar should be no different. 

The event is free of charge and should last around 60 minutes. 

Commercial Lighting Basics
October 28, 2020
19.30-20.30 CEST (17.30 - 18.30 UTC)
​​​​​​​10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. PT (1:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. ET)

You can register for the event by clicking the link here.      

Your Comment