We've seen some amazing pieces of cinema come through this year's Tribeca Film Festival. Here's a list of the films and filmmakers that took home awards. 

[Click on the links in the titles to check out their pages on TFF's site.]

World Narrative Competition Categories:

The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature

Winner: Virgin Mountainwritten/directed by Dagur Kári


About the winning film, the jury said:

With its mixture of humor and pathos, this film captured our hearts. Beyond the deceptively small frame of a mismatched love story, the film deals with the issues of bigotry, loneliness, bullying, mental illness, and ultimately the triumph of the human spirit and the meaning of love.

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film

Winner: Gunnar Jónsson --Virgin Mountain


From the jury about Jónsson's performance:

The film was aided in no small measure by a performer whose mixture of comedy and sadness evokes Chaplin and Keaton, with a complete lack of tricks, pretense, or condescension. This performer relies instead on subtlety, timing, and naked honesty, creating an indelible portrait of a man fighting to be seen in a world that judges him by his appearance.

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film

Winner: Hannah Murray -- Bridgend

Bridgend_web_8Hannah Murray as Sara in 'Bridgend'

The jury on Murray's performance:

An actress who captured the hopelessness of a lost generation. With bravery and guilelessness, this young actress led us in a descent into a world gone mad, as well as a journey into the protagonist’s own inner darkness.

Best Cinematography

Winner: Magnus Jønck -- Bridgend


The jury on Jønck's work in Bridgend: "Soulful and searing images, a daring use of composition and light, and an evocative sense of place."

Best Screenplay

Winner: Virgin Mountain, written by Dagur Kári

The writer of this film is also the director, and is credited as one of the editors, and also performed the music, and runs the director’s program at the National Film School of Denmark, leading us to wonder when he has time to go to the bathroom. His intricately designed, beautifully observed, and bravely conceived screenplay consistently defies expectations, avoids sentimentality, and never strikes a false note.

Best Narrative Editing

Winner: Bridgend, edited by Oliver Bugge Coutté

Jury comment: “Impeccable rhythms and expert balancing of many divergent narratives.”

World Documentary Competition Categories:

Best Documentary Feature

Winner: Democratsdirected by Camilla Nielsson


Here's what the jury had to say about this doc:

For its choice of an important, universal subject; for filming in conditions where simply to be present is a triumph; and for prioritizing dignity, courage, and our common struggle for humanity, we give this year’s Best Documentary Feature award to Camilla Nielsson for Democrats.

Special Jury Mention: In Transitdirected by Albert Maysles, Nelson Wlaker, Lynn true, David Usui, and Ben Wu

Best Documentary Editing

Winner: Palio, edited by Valerio Bonelli

This film viscerally transported us into an event and turned life into art. For subtly placing us behind the scenes; and for general technical excellence, this year’s award for Best Editing in a Documentary goes to editor Valerio Bonelli for Palio.

Best New Narrative Director Competition

Best New Narrative Director

Winner: Zachary Treitz, director of Men Go To Battle


Zachary Treitz presented us with a combination of approaches not all that easy to put together: a unique and sincere vision, alongside off-beat humor, alongside historical and emotional authenticity.

Special Jury Mention: Stephen Fingleton for The Survivalist

Best New Documentary Director Competition

Albert Maysles New Documentary Director Award

Winners: Ewan McNicol and Anna Sandilands for Uncertain

UNCERTAIN - Film Trailer from Lucid Inc. on Vimeo.

This year we recognize a beautiful character study that explores violent natures, redemption, and what it takes to tame the self. A perfect balance of simplicity and mystery, this American story examines humanity, and how it can unwittingly destroy not just landscapes but livelihoods.​

Special Jury Mention: Eric Shirai for The Birth of Saké

Short Film Competition Categories

Best Narrative Short

Winner: Listen, directed by Hamy Ramezan and Rungano Nyoni 

This year’s winner for Best Narrative Short was emotionally compelling and by far the most affecting of the pieces we screened, with the filmmakers displaying a clear emotional connection with the narrative. To say that we had a healthy debate is an understatement.

Special Jury MentionStatistical Analysis of your Failing Relationship directed by Miles Jay

2015 Best Documentary and Student Visionary Award

Best Documentary Short

Winner: Body Team 12 directed by David Darg


The winning film is a spiritual and inspiring story of personal courage and commitment. The filmmaking team takes us on a fearless journey that restores our faith in humanity and inspires viewers to be optimistic despite facing the most extreme challenges.

Special Jury Mention: We Live This directed by James Burns

Student Visionary Award

Winner: Catwalk directed by Ninja Thyberg


An effective look at peer influence not peer pressure.  A creative explanation of what young people are experiencing as a result of social media threads and trends. Beautifully shot, and cast with a profound message that promotes individuality and vulnerability amongst the girls and parents, this year’s Student Visionary Award goes to Ninja Thyberg for her film Catwalk.

Special Jury MentionKingdom of Garbage, directed by Yasir Kareem

Bombay Sapphire® Storyscapes Award

Winner: "Door Into the Dark" created by Amy Rose and May Abdalla at Anagram


In an overwhelming media environment in which we struggle for control, we recognize a work that viscerally reconnects us with the value of letting go. It offers a meticulously crafted storyworld that allows us to cerebrally, emotionally, and quite literally leave our baggage behind and step into the void. In that void we become disoriented, take risks, make choices and find ourselves again, changed. Ambitious, simple, and profound, this work marks a fresh and promising direction for the field of immersive theater. It evoked a euphoria that stayed with us long after we left it.

The Nora Ephron Prize

Winner: Sworn Virgin, directed by Laura Bispuri and written by Francesca Manieri and Bispuri


We are awarding a film that is exquisite in its broadness and its intimacy, with a truly original story that touches on gender identity and oppression in a way that members of this jury have rarely seen before. The film constantly surprised us and made us question our own positions through a confident, passionate, and beautifully nuanced vision that showed a real respect for the audience.

Special Jury Mention:Being 14directed and written by Hélène Zimmer

What do you think about the films/filmmakers that won? Which were your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!

Source: Tribeca