The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced the nominations of this year's ASC Awards, celebrating achievements in, you guessed it, cinematography by those who work in feature films (both theatrical and non-theatrical), documentaries,  and TV, including miniseries, commercial, and non-commercial.

Below is a list of the nominations for the 2019 ASC Awards.

Theatrical Release

  • Alfonso Cuarón for Roma
  • Matthew Libatique, ASC for A Star is Born
  • Robbie Ryan, BSC, ISC for The Favourite
  • Linus Sandgren, ASC, FSF for First Man
  • Łukasz Żal, PSC for Cold War

Roma-cuaron-screen-anarchy"Roma" Credit: Netflix

Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot

  • James Friend, BSC for Patrick Melrose, “Bad News”
  • Mathias Herndl, AAC for Genius: Picasso, “Chapter 1”
  • Florian Hoffmeister, BSC for The Terror, “Go for Broke”
  • M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (pilot)
  • Brendan Steacy, CSC for Alias Grace, “Part 1”

Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television

  • Gonzalo Amat for The Man in the High Castle, “Jahr Null”
  • Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for The Crown, “Beryl”
  • David Klein, ASC for Homeland, “Paean to the People”
  • Colin Watkinson, ASC for The Handmaid’s Tale, “The Word”
  • Cathal Watters, ISC for Peaky Blinders, “The Company”
  • Zoë White, ACS for The Handmaid’s Tale, “Holly”

Image010-2"The Marvelous Ms. Maisel" Credit: Amazon

Regular Series for Commercial Television

  • Nathaniel Goodman, ASC for Timeless, “The King of the Delta Blues”
  • Jon Joffin, ASC for Beyond, “Two Zero One”
  • Ben Richardson for Yellowstone, “Daybreak”
  • David Stockton, ASC for Gotham, “A Dark Knight: Queen Takes Knight”
  • Thomas Yatsko, ASC for Damnation, “A Different Species”


  • Joshua James Richards for The Rider
  • Giorgi Shvelidze for Namme
  • Frank van den Eeden, NSC, SBC for Girl

The-rider-review"The Rider" Credit: Sony Pictures Classics

The 33rd ASC Awards will be held on February 9th, so be sure to check back to learn who won.

Source: The ASC