Okay, so the history of the Best Animated Feature Award at the Oscars isn't a long one, in fact, it wasn't even created until 2002, the year Shrek took home the prize. However, the animated film about an ogre and his donkey wasn't the first animated film to be recognized by the Academy. Outstanding works like those of Walt Disney Pictures and Toy Story were simply given special awards, and it wasn't until Beauty and the Beast in 1991 that an animated film received the highest honor of Best Picture.

But due to a rise in production of animated films from studios like DreamWorks and Pixar at the turn of the century, the Academy decided that the genre deserved its own dedicated award, and thus the Oscar for Best Animated Feature was born.

This year, Moana, My Life as a Zucchini, The Red Turtle, and Zootopia are the animated films vying for the prize, so to celebrate, check out this supercut from Burger Fiction of every single film that has won the award so far.

Here's the list of films that appeared in the supercut (minus this year's nominees, which were previously listed).

  • Shrek (2001)
  • Spirited Away (2002)
  • Finding Nemo (2003)
  • The Incredibles (2004)
  • Wallace and Gromit: Curse of the Were-Rabbit (2005)
  • Happy Feet (2006)
  • Ratatouille (2007)
  • WALL-E (2008)
  • Up (2009)
  • Toy Story 3 (2010)
  • Rango (2011)
  • Brave (2012)
  • Frozen (2013)
  • Big Hero 6 (2014)
  • Inside Out (2015)
  • Kubo and the Two Strings (2016)

Source: Burger Fiction