November 28, 2016
2016 Gotham Awards

'Moonlight' is the Big Winner at IFP's 2016 Gotham Awards, Takes Home 4 Awards

IFP's 26th annual Gotham Independent Film Awards ceremony kicks off tonight, and this is the place to come for our coverage of the nominees as well as up-to-date information on all the winners.

Here are the nominees and winners (in bold) for each category:

Best Feature

  • Certain Women — Kelly Reichardt, director; Neil Kopp, Vincent Savino, Anish Savjani, producers (IFC Films)
  • Everybody Wants Some!! — Richard Linklater, director; Megan Ellison, Ginger Sledge, Richard Linklater, producers (Paramount Pictures)
  • Manchester by the Sea — Kenneth Lonergan, director; Kimberly Steward, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Lauren Beck, Kevin J. Walsh, producers (Amazon Studios)
  • Moonlight — Barry Jenkins, director; Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, producers (A24) [WINNER]

  • Paterson — Jim Jarmusch, director; Joshua Astrachan, Carter Logan, producers (Amazon Studios)

Want to know more about the nominees for Best Feature?


Best Documentary

  • Cameraperson — Kirsten Johnson, director; Marilyn Ness, producer (Janus Films)
  • I Am Not Your Negro — Raoul Peck, director; Rémi Grellety, Raoul Peck, Hébert Peck, producers (Magnolia Pictures, Independent Lens)
  • O.J.: Made in America — Ezra Edelman, director; Caroline Waterlow, Ezra Edelman, Tamara Rosenberg, Nina Krstic, Deirdre Fenton, Erin Leyden, producers (ESPN Films) [WINNER]

  • Tower — Keith Maitland, director; Keith Maitland, Megan Gilbride, Susan Thomson, producers (Kino Lorber, Independent Lens)
  • Weiner  Josh Kriegman, Elyse Steinberg, directors and producers (Sundance Selects and Showtime Documentary Films)

Want to know more about the nominees for Best Documentary?


Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

  • Robert Eggers — The Witch (A24)
  • Anna Rose Holmer — The Fits (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
  • Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert — Swiss Army Man (A24)
  • Trey Edward Shults — Krisha (A24) [WINNER]

  • Richard Tanne — Southside with You (Roadside Attractions and Miramax)

Want to know more about the films directed by the Bingham Ray Award?

'The Witch'

Best Screenplay

  • Hell or High Water — Taylor Sheridan (CBS Films)
  • Love & Friendship — Whit Stillman (Amazon Studios)
  • Manchester by the Sea — Kenneth Lonergan (Amazon Studios)
  • Moonlight — Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney; Screenplay by Barry Jenkins (A24) [WINNER]

  • Paterson — Jim Jarmusch (Amazon Studios)

Want to know more about the Best Screenplay nominees?

Best Actor

  • Casey Affleck — Manchester by the Sea (Amazon Studios) [WINNER]
  • Jeff Bridges — Hell or High Water (CBS Films)
  • Adam Driver — Paterson (Amazon Studios)
  • Joel Edgerton — Loving (Focus Features)
  • Craig Robinson — Morris from America (A24)
Adam Driver in 'Paterson'

Best Actress

  • Kate Beckinsale  Love & Friendship (Amazon Studios)
  • Annette Bening  20th Century Women (A24)
  • Isabelle Huppert  Elle (Sony Pictures Classics) [WINNER]

  • Ruth Negga  Loving (Focus Features)
  • Natalie Portman  Jackie (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Want to read the screenplay for Jackie, Elle, and several others?

Breakthrough Actor

  • Lily Gladstone  Certain Women (IFC Films)
  • Lucas Hedges  Manchester by the Sea (Amazon Studios)
  • Royalty Hightower  The Fits (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
  • Sasha Lane  American Honey (A24)
  • Anya Taylor-Joy  The Witch (A24) [WINNER]

Royalty Hightower in 'The Fits'

Breakthrough Series—Long Form

  • Crazy Ex-Girlfriend Rachel Bloom & Aline Brosh McKenna, creators; Marc Webb, Rachel Bloom, Aline Brosh McKenna, Erin Ehrlich, executive producers (The CW) [WINNER]

  • The Girlfriend Experience  Lodge Kerrigan, Amy Seimetz, creators; Steven Soderbergh, Philip Fleischman, Amy Seimetz, Lodge Kerrigan, Jeff Cuban, Gary Marcus, executive producers (Starz)
  • Horace and Pete  Louis C.K., creator; M. Blair Breard, Dave Becky, Vernon Chatman, Dino Stamatopoulos, executive producers (
  • Marvel’s Jessica Jones  Melissa Rosenberg, creator; Melissa Rosenberg, Liz Friedman, Alan Fine, Stan Lee, Joe Quesada, Dan Buckley, Jim Chory, Jeph Loeb, Howard Klein, executive producers (Netflix)
  • Master of None  Aziz Ansari and Alan Yang, creators; Michael Schur, David Miner, Dave Becky, executive producers (Netflix)

Breakthrough Series—Short Form

  • The Gay and Wondrous Life of Caleb Gallo — Brian Jordan Alvarez, creator (YouTube)
  • Her Story — Jen Richards and Laura Zak, creators ( [WINNER]

  • The Movement — Darnell Moore, Host (
  • Sitting in Bathrooms with Trans People — Dylan Marron, creator (Seriously.TV)
  • Surviving — Reagan Gomez, creator (YouTube)

Special Jury Award for Ensemble Performance

  • Moonlight — Mahershala Ali, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes, Ashton Sanders [WINNER]

Gotham Audience Award

  • Moonlight [WINNER]

Your Comment